24/7 Free Massachusetts DUI Consultation     CALL NOW(508) 930-4273

Obtaining A Cinderella License In Massachusetts

Many people speak of a “Cinderella License” and want to know how they can get one. A “Cinderella License” is a Hardship License. It’s a license that has time restrictions, hence the nickname “Cinderella.” A common misunderstanding is that you can get a “Cinderella License” during a suspension that came as a result of your refusal to perform the Breathalyzer Test or as a result of your failure on the Breathalyzer Test. Unfortunately, this is not true unless you plea/admit to the DUI/OUI and are sentenced to the First Offender’s Alcohol Education Program. “Cinderella” licenses can only be issued during suspensions that come as a result of either a conviction or a plea/admission to the charge. Even then, you will be eligible for a Hardship License only after you have served a specified period of your suspension. Below are the Hardship eligibility requirements for the various DUI/OUI offenses.

Contact us for help pertaining to Cinderella licenses, Submit A Free Case Evaluation or call (508) 930-4273 to speak with Attorney Higgins now.

First OUI Offense Cinderella License Guidelines

3 months into the 1-year suspension, unless you received a disposition under Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 90, § 24D and the court ordered a license suspension of between 45 and 90 days. In that case, upon your entry into the First Offender’s Alcohol Education Program, you will be eligible for a 12-hour work-related Hardship License during your period of suspension. If you refused the Breath Test and you resolve your case within the 180-day refusal suspension, the Hardship License will be for the duration of that suspension plus the court-ordered suspension.

1 year into the 2-year suspension, unless your prior offense occurred more than 10 years ago and you received the Second Offender’s Alternative Disposition under Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 90, § 24D with the associated license loss of 45-90 days. In that case, you will be eligible for a 12-hour work-related Hardship License during your suspension (subject to the Ignition Interlock Requirement) upon your entry into the 24D First Offender’s Alcohol Education Program. If you refused the Breath Test and suffered a 3-year refusal suspension, your Hardship License will be for the duration of that suspension plus the court-ordered suspension of between 45 and 90 days. If your prior offense occurred within the last 10 years and you refused the Breath Test, the 2-year suspension will not begin until your 3-year refusal suspension has run. In that case, you will not be eligible for a Hardship License (subject to the Ignition Interlock Requirement) until 4 years into the aggregate 5-year suspension.

Third OUI Offense Cinderella License Guidelines

After 2 years of your 8-year suspension you will be eligible for a 12-hour work-related Hardship License. After 4 years, you will be eligible for a new license on a limited basis with conditions deemed appropriate by the RMV and subject to the Ignition Interlock requirement. If you refused the Breath Test and suffered a 5-year refusal suspension, your 8-year suspension will not begin until the expiration of the refusal suspension and you will not be eligible for a Hardship License until 7 years into the aggregate 13-year suspension.

Fourth OUI Offense Cinderella License Guidelines

After 5 years of your 10-year suspension you will be eligible for a 12-hour work-related Hardship License, subject to the Ignition Interlock Requirement. After 8 years, you will be eligible for a new license on a limited basis with conditions deemed appropriate by the RMV, subject to the Ignition Interlock Requirement. If you refused the Breath Test, you will not be eligible for a Hardship License.

Contact us for help pertaining to Cinderella licenses, Submit A Free Case Evaluation or call (508) 930-4273 to speak with Attorney Higgins now.

Southshore Office
306 Washington St,
Norwell, MA 02061

Northshore Office
800 Turnpike St, Suite 300
North Andover, MA 01845

Boston Office
One Boston Place, Suite 2600
Boston, MA 02108

FREE DUI CONSULTATION

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Phone

Your Message

captcha